Operation Manatee #96: The Richard D. James Special

Some of you may know that Richard D. James has been releasing new music for the first time in a long time. Under his main monicker, Aphex Twin, he released his first album in 13 years, the highly anticipated Syro, in September, 2014. Just 4 months later, with little announcement, he released the curious (but super neat, in my opinion) Computer-Controlled Acoustic Instruments pt 2 EP, a half-hour run time collection of mostly prepared piano and drums, likely programmed by him and played by custom-made robots, if we’re to believe what we’ve read in recent interviews.

Very shortly after the EP’s release, a SoundCloud account appeared to be uploading old, unreleased RDJ material under the usernames, “user487363530″, ” “user4873635301″, and finally, ” “user48736353001”, where the track count totalled 110, and they were all made available for free download.

Lucky for you, I’m a fan, and Cory’s gone.

Tune in tonight from 11:00 to midnight for  the RDJ/Aphex Twin/AFX/user48736353001/etc. Special!

1. Aphex Twin – Bucephalus Bouncing Ball
2. AFX – Analogue Talks
3. eightcubed – Pussy Needs
4. Aphex Twin – Peek 824545201
5. Power-Pill – Pac-Man
6. Caribou – All I Ever Need
7. user48736353001 – 10 bcr78
8. Aphex Twin – disk prep calrec2 barn dance [ s l o]
9. PDF Format – Looking For Cookies, Then Finding And Eating Them
10. AFX – Backdoor.Berbew.Q

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: